Upcoming Films I’d Like To See…

Recently when watching the television or going to the cinema, I have seen many movie trailers that have interested me. People have also suggested various films to me that I would like to watch. Often I keep a mental note of the films that I would like to see but frequently forget and so I am going to start keeping a log so that I don’t forget! Here is a list of 10 films, whether they have already been released or not, that I would like to see…

1) Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

I first saw the trailer for Tim Burtons most recent film when watching the television. Immediately it interested me with the fantasy adventure and somewhat thrilling theme. Many of my friends have already seen this film and have recommended that I see it. Unbeknown to me, the film is based on a dark fantasy novel written by Ransom Riggs. When reading reviews, the film is made out to be darker than displayed in the trailer; however this does not put me off and I shall be going to watch this film very soon.

2) Reservoir Dogs

Reservoir Dogs is in no way a recently released film. It was initially released in 1992; however recently my media class have been set a task to re create the opening titles to Reservoir Dogs as close as we can in order to win some sort of prize. From replaying these opening titles over and over, and from the short clips we were shown in class I would like to watch the rest of the film.

3) Doctor Strange

I first came across the trailer for Doctor Strange when at the cinema. The first thing to capture my attention was the fact that the main character is played by Benedict Cumberbatch. I am a fan of the television series, Sherlock and Doctor Strange seems to be similar to the show in small ways. When watching the trailer, the film has a mysterious tone and so I am looking forward to see it when it is released, in 10 days time.

4) Passengers

Although this film does not seem to be the type that usually interests me most, the trailer includes many different features such as: comedy; mystery; sci-fi; romance; action and adventure; and a thrill. Also, the two main actors are played by Jennifer Lawrence and Chris Pratt. I have thoroughly enjoyed films in the past with these actors in and so am excited to see, in December, the characters that they play in this film.

5) The Incredibles 2

Arguably, this film is the one that I am most excited for. However, it is not going to be released until the 21st of June 2019. The Incredibles was one of my favourite movies when I was younger and ever since it’s release in 2004 there have been rumours circling for a second film. After the long wait I was ecstatic when finding out that a second film has been confirmed. Even though it may be 3 years away… I will be 19 years old but at the front of the queue to see the second Incredibles film!

6) Pulp Fiction

Pulp Fiction is once again not a recently released film. It was infact released on the 21st of October 1994. It came to the shock of many when they found out that I had never seen Pulp Fiction and so I figured it was time to catch up and watch it!

7) Pitch Perfect 3

My guilty pleasure is the Pitch Perfect films. They never fail to make you laugh, Rebel Wilson in particular, and the catchy songs will remain in your head for a good while. When the first Pitch Perfect film was released in 2012 I can remember being a part of a new acapella group with my friends. Fortunately, this only lasted a week.

8) Zoolander 2

Zoolander is one of my favourite films, I have watched it way too many times and can quote pretty much the whole film. The satirical comedy always makes me laugh and I am unsure as to why I haven’t watched the second film yet. Zealander 2 has been out for a while now and contains endless amounts of stars and celebrities such as Justin Bieber, Miley Cyrus, Lenny Kravitz, Usher, A$AP Rocky, Ariana Grande plus many more. I feel as though there is a joy in watching celebrities mock themselves and have fun and I think that is why Zoolander appeals to me and makes me laugh so much.

9) The Godfather

The Godfather was released in 1972 so once again is not a recent film. Although I do not have a particular urge to watch The Godfather, from hearing what others say about it I feel as if I have to. The shock people display when they find out I am a media studies student who has not seen The Godfather suggests to me that I should watch it.

10) The Divergent Series: Allegiant

When I was 12/13 years old I read a book called Divergent. I loved the book and so re read it, to my joy a series was published also. I read all books to the series and loved them so much. When the Divergent film was released in 2014 I was out of this world excited. I watched and re watched the film countless times and could soon quote the whole film and sing all of the compiled scores. The second film release, Insurgent, was just as good and I watched and rewetted this a countless number of times also. On the 10th of March 2016, the third film was released. However, I had not read this book as I had heard rumours of the ending and did not want to ruin it and so I decided that I had to read the book before seeing the film. By the time I had read the book, the film was out of cinemas and not yet on DVD/sites such as iTunes, Amazon Instant Video or Netflix. I have still not seen the third instalment to the series and so will get around to that as soon as I can.

Although in no particular order, there are films in this list that I have wanted to watch for a long time and also films that I am not wanting to see badly but feel as if I need to. Eventually, I plan to have gotten around to have seen all of these films… even if that does take me until 2019.

Leave a Reply

