My (very) Varied Music Taste

If someone were to ask me what type of music I liked I wouldn’t be able to pick just one or two genres. My taste is hugely varied as I like pretty much all types of music. Here is a link to a moodboard of my all-time favourite artists…

http://www.gomoodboard.com/boards/-gi_7JyS/share

The moodboard includes singers such as: Royal Blood; My Chemical Romance; Chris Brown; Blur; Tove Lo; Little Mix; Adam Ant; Rihanna; David Bowie; The Vaccines; Everything Everything; Fleetwood Mac; S Club 7; MØ; plus many more. There is a huge range from Etta James to The Vengaboys but all of these artists are some of my favourites.

When I was younger whenever I was asked what I wanted to be when I was older, I said a rapper. I was obsessed with artists such as: Eminem; The Black Eyed Peas; and Jay Z. Nicki Minaj was one of my idols as she was a famous female rapper and because of this I learnt all of the words to songs of hers including Super Bass and Right Thru Me. Although I am less determined to become a rapper now, I still like to listen to artists such as: Chris Brown; JME; Skepta; and Nicki Minaj. People are often surprised when they find out that I can rap one of Eminem’s songs… Rap God.

S Club 7, My Chemical Romance and The Black Eyed Peas are all bands that I was pretty obsessed with. However, these three bands split up. When they did this broke my heart.

Older artists such as David Bowie, Blur, Etta James, Pulp, Fleetwood Mac and Adam Ant were introduced to me by my parents. Songs written by these artists are some of my all time favourites. These include: I’d Rather Go Blind by Etta James; Song 2 by Blur; Starman, Life on Mars? and Space Oddity by David Bowie; Stand And Deliver by Adam Ant; Disco 2000, Common People and Live Bed Show by Pulp. Fleetwood Mac’s song, Go Your Own Way is also one of my favourite songs.

Some artists such as: The Vengaboys; Taylor Swift and Miley Cyrus have produced some of my favourite songs. People often describe these artists as their guilty pleasure; however, when these songs are played at parties everyone joins in. The Vengaboys have written songs such as ‘Vengabus’ and ‘Boom Boom Boom Boom’ which are songs known by almost everyone. Taylor Swift’s song ‘Love Story’ is most probably my all time favourite song as I used to be obsessed with the music video and still am. Following this closely is another of Taylor Swift’s songs… ‘You Belong With Me’. I love the song and I used to think I was Taylor Swift as in the music video she had long blonde hair, large glasses, a green bedroom and played the clarinet… just like me! I started to like Miley Cyrus through the Disney created star, Hannah Montana. I used to love the songs from Hannah Montana; however, songs such as ‘The Climb’ from the Hannah Montana Movie are so catchy and known by almost everyone still today.

Artists including: Tove Lo, Justin Bieber, Craig David; MØ; Astrid S; and FKA Twigs have recently scaled the charts with their most recent music. The songs are catchy and really good for when you’re feeling all upbeat and excited!

Royal Blood, Little Mix, Rihanna, The Vaccines, Everything Everything, Coldplay, Taylor Swift and Arctic Monkeys are examples of artists that I have always liked. Every single one of their songs I have downloaded and frequently listen to.

I think that having a varied taste in music is a good thing because this means that I know and enjoy a wide variety of music. Because of this, I can join in with people singing, dancing or having fun at parties to more music.

Leave a Reply

